Let the class begin.

Enter the story of a semester…

education tech - villemard

 

 

 

 

 

 

Year 1910. Here is part of the utopia according to Villemard -an evil, sad, dark, mechanical utopia about 21st century-. Pretty ugly. I think it still describes part of what is going on in the education system. However, Villemard (author of this utopia) was right in one thing: If we mix textbooks like the man in this image did, and assign a few leaders to turn the wheels, those wires will make happier ears. Take shortcuts, so to speak. That’s what many do.

Today, I started the first class of the semester by stating that there will be many texts that go into those brains. I am not going to digest those texts for them, though (which is an easy way to go for several classes in my institution). There are a couple of geography majors in the classroom,which makes me think maybe they will be the anchors and help me get my message about what geography can achieve across the room. I want happy ears without wires taking the information to them, and that’ll be challenging. I want them to get up, leave their seats, shake their own lives a little. That’s why I started the class with the following question: “What is university for?Why are you here?”

Still haven’t got back to the answers, because I am a bit afraid of what sort of disappointing shortcuts I’ll see in those papers.

Let’s see what happens tomorrow.

var yorum?

